HomeWhy Nevada? Why Nye County?Our CommunitiesGalleryLinksContact UsSite Map
Small Business Loans
2013 Annual Meeting
Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy
Development Sites for Lease
Nye County Brownfields Program
Renewable Energy Resource Development
Executive Director's Corner
Employment/Volunteer Opportunities
News Flash

Nye County

Regional Economic Development Authority

Bringing Nye County Communities Together


The Nye County Regional Economic Development Authority (NCREDA), a 501(c)(6) Non-Profit Organization, that promotes the advacement of economic development in Nye County, for the benefit of the community as a whole. NCREDA collects, organizes, reproduces and disseminates information for the purpose of improving social, econnomic and business conditions throughout Nye County and the region. NCREDA takes an innovative approach for small businesses and offers finanical support with our Micro-Loan Program.


 About Nye County  

Nye County is the third largest county in the United States based on land area, spans a total area of 18,193 square miles, with nearly 98% of the County’s total area managed by the federal government.  Tonopah is the county seat.  Nye County’s population is 43,496 (U.S. Census Bureau, 2010), with about 2.4 persons per square mile.  Its population is heavily concentrated in Pahrump (36,583) with more than 80% of the residents living in the County’s largest and southern-most town.  The five other most populous towns include: Tonopah (2,497), Round Mountain/Smoky Valley (1,577), Amargosa Valley (1,456), Beatty (1,032), and Gabbs (525).

For a significant portion of the County’s history, mining, agriculture, and government employment (both local and federal) have influenced the economic prosperity of the area.  Mining, however, is cyclical and highly dependent on fluctuating market prices.  Additionally, revenues associated with federal government employment and funding have seen a reduction in recent years due to federal opposition to the Yucca Mountain Project.  These issues have led the County to pursue different industries to diversify the local economy in order to make the County solvent. One of the primary industries Nye County has been attempting to cultivate is renewable energy.

Nye County Is provided power by three entities: Mt. Wheeler Power, Valley Electric Association (VEA), and NV Energy. Each power provider owns, maintains, and operates their individual infrastructures. Mt. Wheeler Power services Currant and other northeast Nye County communities.  VEA services the southern Nye County communities of Pahrump, Crystal, Amargosa Valley, and Beatty.  NV Energy services northwest, central, and a small portion of southeast Nye County, which includes the communities of Gabbs, Round Mountain, and Tonopah.



Pahrump Welcome Sign




NCREDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer.  If you wish to file a Civil Rights program complaint of discrimination, complete the USDA Program Discrimination Complaint Form, found online at http://www.ascr.usda.gov/complaint_filing_cust.html, or at any USDA office, or call (866) 632-9992 to request the form. You may also write a letter containing all of the information requested in the form. Send your completed complaint form or letter to us by mail at U.S. Department of Agriculture, Director, Office of Adjudication, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, D.C. 20250-9410, by fax (202) 690-7442 or email at program.intake@usda.gov.